Information for Employees

Injuries

What the EMPLOYEE should do if injured on the job

  1. Notify your supervisor immediately, no matter how minor the injury may seem. Report unsafe working conditions to your supervisor or the Environmental Health and Safety Office.
  2. If necessary, obtain medical attention. You may choose any medical provider that is found within the IMO Network . Inform the medical provider that your injury is work related. Your department will provide you with a Supervisor's First Report of Injury form to give to your medical provider.
  3. If you miss work due to an on the job injury, you must keep your supervisor informed of your work status by providing a Texas Workers' Compensation Work Status Report (DWC 73) after each doctor visit. The doctor's office must provide the report to you, the injured employee.
  4. You must also complete the Request For Paid Leave form if you miss time from work other than the day of the injury. The form is provided by your department.
  5. When your doctor releases you to return to work, you must report to work at the beginning of your next regularly scheduled shift. The DWC 73 report from your doctor indicating a return to work date or any work-related limitations must be given to your supervisor before you may return.
  6. For more information, contact the Workers' Compensation Advisor in the Risk Management & Insurance (713-500-8127)  or the Texas Workers' Compensation Commission at (281) 260-3035 or (713) 943-0800

Needle Sticks and/or Blood Borne Exposures

What the EMPLOYEE should do if an infectious disease exposure occurs

  1. Notify your supervisor immediately, no matter how minor the incident may seem. If you are exposed to any human or animal body fluids or other potentially infectious materials, you should seek treatment immediately. If you are exposed to a potential infection from HIV, treatments must begin within 1 to 2 hours.
  2. You may choose any medical provider that is found within the IMO Network. Medical providers include off campus physicians or clinics. For your convenience, the UT Health Service is available for the initial visit. Because timely treatment is essential, the medical provider should be called ahead of time to be advised of your condition.
  3. If time permits, your department should provide you with a Supervisor's First Report of Injury Form to give to your medical provider. Inform the medical provider that your injury or exposure is work related. Follow your physician's instructions or treatment plan.
  4. Provide your supervisor with a DWC Work Status Report (DWC 73) from your medical provider after receiving medical attention.
  5. Workers' compensation insurance may cover part of the cost of the treatment of the injury or exposure. For law enforcement officers, the cost of baseline testing will be covered only if done within 10 days of an exposure to a reportable disease. For other state employees, the cost of baseline testing will be covered only if done within 10 days of an exposure to HIV. This provision applies to baseline testing and not to follow-up testing or prophylactic treatment. You should not be billed for medical expenses. If you receive any bills, contact the Workers' Compensation Advisor.
  6. Report to your supervisor or the Environmental Health and Safety Office at 500-8100 any unsafe condition that caused the infectious disease exposure.
  7. For more information, contact the Workers' Compensation Coordinator in the Office of Risk Management & Insurance at 713-500-8127.