GSBS logo
 
Degrees of Discovery logo
 
 

DISTINGUISHED ALUMNI AWARD PREVIOUS WINNERS

1981   Robert E. Marc
1975/Ph.D./Neuroscience/Harry Sperling
Professor
Department of Ophthalmology, University of Utah School of Medicine
Moran Eye Center, Salt Lake City, UT 84132
801-585-6500
robert.marc@hsc.utah.edu

1996   Larry H. Thompson
1969/Ph.D./Radiation Biology/Herman Suit
Team Leader, DNA Repair Team
Biology and Biotechnology Research Program
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, Livermore, CA 94551-0808 
925-455-9473
thompson14@llnl.gov

1997   Aravinda Chakravarti
1979/Ph.D./Human and Molecular Genetics/Masatoshi Nei
Professor and Director (Nathans-McKusick Institute of Genetic Medicine)
Institute of Genetic Medicine
600 N. Wolfe Street, 2-109 Jefferson Street Building
The Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, MD 21287
410-502-7525
aravinda@jhmi.edu

1998   Hugo A. Barrera-Saldana
1982/Ph.D./Molecular Biology/Grady Saunders
Professor and Chairman, Department of Biochemistry
University of Nuevo Leon-Monterrey
P.O. Box 3-4125
C.P. 64000 Monterrey N.L. Mexico
52-8-329-4173
hbarrera@uanl.mx

2000   Michael E. McClure
1970/Ph.D./Biochemistry/L.S. Hnilica
Chief, Organs and Systems Toxicology
Extramural Research
NIEHS, NIH
P.O. Box 12233, MD EC-23
Research Triangle Park, NC 
301-496-6515 
mcclure@niehs.nih.gov

2001   Deborah Anderson
1976/Ph.D./Immunology/Bar Levy
Professor of Obstetrics 
Gynecology and Microbiology
Boston University School of Medical
670 Albany Street, Suite 516
Boston, MA 02118
617-414-8482
Deborah.Anderson@bmc.org

2002   Larry Deaven
1969/Ph.D./Cell Biology/T. Elton Stubblefield
Life Sciences Division
Los Alamos National Laboratory
Los Alamos, NM 87545
505-667-3912

2003    Eugene W. Gerner 
1974/Ph.D./Biopysics/Ronald Humphrey
Professor
Arizona Cancer Center
University of Arizona Health Science Center
1515 N. Campbell Street
Tucson, AZ 85724
520-626-2197
egerner@azcc.arizona.edu

2004   Ronald S. Duman 
1984/Ph.D./Pharmacology/Sam Enna
Professor of Psychiatry and Pharmacology
Director, Abraham Ribicoff Research Facilities
Yale University School of Medicine
34 Park Street
New Haven, CT 06508 
ronald.duman@yale.edu 

2005   Bhudatt Paliwal
1973/Ph.D./Medical Physics/Peter Almond 
Professor of Medical Physics and Human Oncology 
University of Wisconsin
716 Langdon Street
Madison, WI 53706
paliwal@humonc.wisc.edu

2006   John J. Kopchick
1980/Ph.D./Virology/Ralph Arlinghaus
Milton and Lawrence H. Goll 
   Eminent Scholar Professorship in
   Molecular and Cellular Biology
Ohio University
Edison Biotechnology Institute
Athens, Ohio 45701-2979
kopchick@ohio.edu

2007   Suzanne A. W. Fuqua
1982/Ph.D./Virology/Robert Naso
Professor of Medicine
Baylor College of Medicine
Breast Center
Departments of Medicine and Molecular & Cellular Biology 
Houston, Texas 77030
713-798-1671 
sfuqua@bcm.tmc.edu

2008  Danny R. Welch
1984/Ph.D./Tumor Biology/Garth Nicolson
Professor and Chair
Cancer Biology
University of Kansas Medical Center
Kansas City, KS 66106
DWelch@kumc.edu

2009 John B. Simpson
1971/Ph.D./Reproductive Biology/John Hampton
Founder of Sawtooth Labs, Inc. and Avinger Inc.
Founder of Perclose (now an Abbott Laboratories company)
Founder of LuMend, Inc. (currently a Johnson & Johnson company)
Founder of Fox Hollow Technologies (recently merged with ev3, Inc.)
Vice Chairman of the Board and Chief Scientist ev3, Inc.
Professor of Clinical Medicine at Stanford University 
Consulting Cardiologist, Sequoia Hospital, 
Redwood City, California
650-216-7400
johnsimpson@foxhollowtech.com

2010 Cathy Wicklund
1993/M.S./Genetic Counseling/Jacqueline Hecht
Assistant Professor, Obstetrics and Gynecology
Northwestern University, Evanston, Illinois
c-wicklund@northwestern.edu

2011 E. Antonio Chiocca
Dardinger Family Professor of Neurosurgical Oncology
Chairman, Department of Neurosurgery, College of Medicine
Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio
e.chiocca@osumc.edu   

2012 Steven R. Patierno
Deputy Director, Duke Cancer Institute
Director, Population Sciences and Health Services, DCI
Professor of Medicine and Community and Family Medicine
Durham, North Carolina
919-684-3052
steven.patierno@duke.edu