GSBS logo
Degrees of Discovery logo

GSBS History

In 1962 there was a movement, led by then MD Anderson Hospital President, R. Lee Clark, M.D., to establish The University of Texas Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences in Houston.  At that time there were 13 predoctoral students studying with scientists at MD Anderson who were enrolled through The University of Texas at Austin.  Six MD Anderson scientists were special members, and four students were special associates, in the Graduate School Faculty at Austin.

The University of Texas Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences at Houston was established on June 11, 1963, and activated by the Board of Regents of the University of Texas on September 28, 1963.

After a two-year national search to recruit an outstanding scientist as Dean of the new school, Paul A. Weiss, Ph.D. was chosen.  At the time of his GSBS appointment he was 66 and had just retired from the Rockefeller Institute.  The Rockefeller graduate program, where the curriculum was interdisciplinary, was the prototype for Dr. Weiss' plan for the curriculum.

The University of Texas Medical School at Houston was established in 1970, and, like the GSBS, was under the administration of The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center.  The assimilation of the basic science faculty at the Medical School into the Graduate School Faculty went smoothly.  Before that time, most Graduate Faculty had their primary appointments at MD Anderson, with a few at the Dental Branch and the School of Public Health.  In 1972 The University of Texas System established The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston to be the administrative entity for all UT schools in Houston.