GSBS logo
Degrees of Discovery logo

Five GSBS Faculty Members Elected Fellows of AAAS

December 03, 2012

Tracey Barnett

Five faculty members from the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences have been elected Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Sharon Dent, Ph.D., vice provost ad interim for laboratory and basic science and chair of Molecular Carcinogenesis at the University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center. Dent was elected for pioneering advances in understanding how histone-modifying enzymes alter chromatin architecture and providing the first evidence that transcriptional corepressor complexes function by reorganizing chromatin.

Elizabeth Grimm, Ph.D., professor, Melanoma Medical Oncology, MD Anderson. Grimm was elected for distinguished contributions advancing the understanding of the innate immune system and the role of cytokines in human cancers, leading to the development of novel treatments.

Raghu Kalluri, M.D., Ph.D., who recently joined MD Anderson as chair of Cancer Biology, also was elected for his distinguished contributions to the field of matrix biology, particularly for unraveling the mechanism of organ fibrosis and determining the role of tumor stroma in the rate of cancer progression and metastasis.

William Plunkett, Ph.D., professor, Experimental Therapeutics, MD Anderson. Plunkett was elected for his significant contributions to basic studies of cancer pathophysiology aimed at identifying chemotherapeutic drugs and translational medicine.

Anil Sood, M.D., professor, Gynecologic Oncology and Reproductive Medicine, MD Anderson. Sood was elected for groundbreaking research about neuroendocrine effects on cancer, development of RNAi therapeutics and anti-angiogenesis approaches, and for pioneering translation of multiple new drugs from lab to clinic.

AAAS is an international, non-profit organization dedicated to advancing science around the world. It includes 24 sections and publishes the journal Science.