GSBS logo
Degrees of Discovery logo

GSBS faculty members named Fellows of inaugural class of AACR Academy

April 03, 2013

Tracey Barnett

The University of Texas Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences faculty members Isaiah Fidler, D.V.M., Ph.D.; John Mendelsohn, M.D.; and Louise Strong, M.D.; and faculty emerita Margaret Kripke, Ph.D., have been named Fellows to a new academy launched by the world's oldest and largest organization dedicated to cancer research, the American Association for Cancer Research.  The first class of Fellows of the new AACR Academy will be inaugurated at the organization’s annual meeting being held in Washington, D.C., April 6-10.

Fidler is affiliated with the Program in Cancer Biology and is the R.E. "Bob" Smith Distinguished Chair in Cell Biology at The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center while Mendelsohn is a faculty member at MD Anderson’s Institute of Personalized Cancer Therapy and past president of MD Anderson (1996-2011); Strong is affiliated with Programs in Human and Molecular Genetics and Genetic Counseling and is the Sue and Radcliffe Killam Chair, Department of Genetics at MD Anderson.

Kripke retired from MD Anderson in 2007. Her accolades include being the first woman to chair an MD Anderson academic department (Immunology); being the first woman to become senior vice president and, ultimately, executive vice president and chief academic officer at MD Anderson; and being twice appointed to the U.S. President's Cancer Panel. She is also an emeritus faculty member of GSBS. She is currently chief scientific officer of The Cancer Prevention and Research Institute of Texas (CPRIT).  

Other Fellows include Alfred G. Knudson Jr., M.D., Ph.D., former dean of GSBS (1970-1976). A complete list of Fellows can be viewed here.

The Academy was established by AACR to recognize and honor distinguished scientists whose major scientific contributions have propelled significant innovation and progress against cancer. Fellows have been selected through a rigorous peer review process that evaluates individuals on the basis of their scientific achievements in cancer research. 

Fidler, Knudson, Kripke, Mendelsohn and Strong were among 106 individuals named as Fellow in the first class; the number symbolizes the age of the organization upon establishment of the Academy. Future classes will consist of no more than 11 individuals, in honor of the 11 founding members of the AACR. 

The AACR was founded in 1907 and is the world’s first and largest professional organization dedicated to advancing cancer research and its mission to prevent and cure cancer.