GSBS logo
Degrees of Discovery logo

3 GSBS faculty members receive honors at annual AACR meeting

April 09, 2013

Tracey Barnett

The University of Texas Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences would like to congratulate faculty members James Allison, Ph.D.; Guillermina Lozano, Ph.D.; and Kenneth Tsai, M.D, Ph.D., on receiving awards from the American Association for Cancer Research. Each will be honored at the organization’s annual meeting to be held in Washington, D.C., April 6-10.

James Allison, Ph.D., chair, Immunology, is the inaugural recipient of the AACR-CRI Lloyd J. Old Award in Cancer Immunology.  This award was established to honor the memory of the late Lloyd J. Old and will recognize an active scientist whose outstanding and innovative research in cancer immunology has had a far-reaching impact on the cancer field. The award includes an honorarium of $10,000. Allison will give a 50-minute lecture during the annual meeting.

Guillermina Lozano, Ph.D., chair, Genetics, is the recipient of the 16th Annual AACR-Women in Cancer Research Charlotte Friend Memorial Lectureship. The lectureship was established in 1998 in honor of renowned virologist and discoverer of the Friend virus, Dr. Charlotte Friend.

Kenneth Tsai, M.D., Ph.D., assistant professor, Dermatology, is the 2013 grantee of the Landon Foundation-AACR INNOVATORS Award for Cancer Prevention. Tsai will receive a two-year grant for $100,000 over the grant term. 

More information about the AACR’s annual meeting can be found at the organization’s website:

The AACR is the oldest and largest scientific organization in the world focused on every aspect of high-quality, innovative cancer research and its mission is to prevent and cure cancer through research, education, communication, and collaboration.