GSBS logo
Degrees of Discovery logo

GSBS Faculty President Morano named Darlington Award Recipient

February 11, 2013

Tracey Barnett

The University of Texas Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences’ Faculty President Kevin Morano, Ph.D., was named the 2012-2013 recipient of the Paul E. Darlington Mentor Award for GSBS Faculty.

Morano, an associate professor in the department of Microbiology and Molecular Genetics at the Medical School, has been a GSBS faculty member since 2000.  He is affiliated with the Microbiology and Molecular Genetics; Biochemistry and Molecular Biology; and Cell and Regulatory Biology programs.  He is currently serving an unprecedented second term as the GSBS faculty president.  

“I am deeply honored to be the recipient of this award and to join such an august company of previous awardees,” said Morano.

The Darlington Award was established to honor Paul E. Darlington, Ph.D., GSBS associate dean and interim dean who is best remembered as a proponent of excellence in mentoring.  The award includes an honorarium of $1,000, and is given to a current GSBS faculty member who has made an exceptional impact, as a mentor, on students and faculty.  Past recipients include GSBS Dean Michelle Barton, Ph.D. (2011-2012); GSBS Dean Michael Blackburn, Ph.D. (2010-2011); Sharon Dent, Ph.D. (2009-2010 tie); and Theresa Koehler, Ph.D. (2009-2010 tie).