GSBS logo
Degrees of Discovery logo

GSBS Deans, Faculty Member Hecht Named 2013 Members of UT-AHSE

January 07, 2013

Tracey Barnett

The University of Texas Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences at Houston would like to congratulate Dean Michelle Barton, Ph.D.; Dean Michael Blackburn, Ph.D.; and Jacqueline Hecht, Ph.D., on being selected as 2013 members of The University of Texas Academy of Health Science Education. These GSBS faculty members are being recognized by the Academy for their teaching excellence.

Hecht is a member of UT- Medical School’s Department of Pediatrics, the new associate dean for research at the UT-School of Dentistry and as a GSBS faculty member with the Human and Molecular Genetics Program founded Genetic Counseling Program in 1989. Hecht was recently awarded the UT Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Award in 2012.

While Barton and Blackburn have been leading the GSBS since July 1, 2012, in dual deanship roles each continue to teach and lead scientific research labs.

Barton is a faculty member of The UT-MD Anderson Cancer Center, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology and has been a member of the GSBS faculty since 2000. Her research is supported by the National Institutes of Health (NIH) and more recently by two major awards from the Cancer Prevention and Research Institute of Texas (CPRIT).

Blackburn is a faculty member in the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology at UTHealth Medical School and has been a member of the GSBS faculty since 1997. His work has been continuously funded by the NIH for 15 years, and has received several awards including an American Lung Association Career Development Award and Young Investigator Award from the American Asthma Foundation.

Nominations for membership in the Academy may come from the President, Dean or Vice-Dean and the Faculty Senate at each University of Texas health science campus and represent the many disciplines in health science education.

The mission of the Academy is to foster excellence in education in the health sciences by recognition of outstanding educators and advancement of knowledge and innovation in the field of education. Its goals include recognizing and rewarding outstanding educators for their exceptional contributions; supporting faculty development for education; promoting the academic advancement of teachers in the health sciences; encourage development and implementation of innovative educational projects, including collaboration between disciplines and institutions; promoting curriculum design and reform; and fostering educational scholarship and research of teaching faculty and provide financial assistance for new and innovative educational projects.

For more information and a complete list of 2013 member, please visit the Academy’s website.