Philanthropy at the University

Distinguished Chair

A Distinguished Chair position is a high honor often bestowed to deans and division directors of special merit. This is a prestigious honor that serves as a great incentive when attracting high caliber educators and researchers for leadership positions at the university. A $1 million gift is required to establish a Distinguished Chair endowment.

For questions or comments, contact:

Ty Sponberg

Senior Gift Assurance Officer
(713) 500-3210

Below is the current list of endowed distinguished chairs:

Endowed Distinguished ChairFaculty HolderSchoolEndowment Established
Adriana Blood Distinguished Chair in Neurology Mya C. Schiess M.D. Medical School 4/9/1992
Alkek-Williams Distinguished Chair Giuseppe Colasurdo, M.D. Component-Wide 10/22/1996
Annie and Bob Graham Distinguished Chair in Stem Cell Biology Mikhal G. Kolonin, Ph.D. Medical School 4/21/2006
C.R. Bard, Inc./Edward J. McGuire, M.D. Distinguished Chair in Urology Steven Canfield, M.D. Medical School 8/30/1996
Distinguished Chair in Molecular Pathology Robert L. Hunter, M.D. Medical School 10/8/1993
Distinguished Chair in Pathology and Laboratory Medicine Gustavo Ayala, M.D. Medical School 10/8/1993
Elizabeth Morford Distinguished Chair in Ophthalmology Stephen C. Massey, Ph.D. Medical School 11/1/2011
George and Cynthia Mitchell Distinguished Chair in Neurosciences Vacant Medical School 5/30/2003
Hans J. Muller-Eberhard, M.D., Ph.D. and Irma Gigli, M.D. Distinguished Chair in Immunology Rick A. Wetsel, Ph.D. Medical School 1/11/2001
Jacobo Geissler Distinguished Chair in West Syndrome Research Vacant Medical School 5/30/2013
James D. Woods Distinguished Chair in Cardiovascular Medicine Richard W. Smalling, MD, PhD, FACC Medical School 10/05/2007
James T. Willerson Distinguished Chair in Cardiovascular Research in Tribute from the Ewing Halsell Foundation David G. Gorenstein, Ph.D. Medical School 8/26/2003
Kay and Ben Fortson Distinguished Chair in Neurodegenerative Disease Research Vacant Medical School 2/2/2005
Linda and Ronny Finger Foundation Distinguished Chair in Neuroimmunologic Disorders John D. Reveille M.D. Medical School 9/24/2004
Louisa Stude Sarofim Distinguished Chair Vacant Medical School 4/4/2014
Marvin E. Chernosky, M.D. Endowed Distinguished Chair in Dermatology Ronald P. Rapini, M.D. Medical School 11/12/2013
Mary Farish Johnston Distinguished Chair Vacant Medical School 4/4/2014
Nancy and Rich Kinder Distinguished Chair in Cardiovascular Disease Research Eva M. Sevick, Ph.D. Medical School 7/21/2003
Nancy, Clive and Pierce Runnells Distinguished Chair in Neuroscience of the Vivian L. Smith Center for Neurologic Research Vacant Medical School 11/11/1997
Nina and Michael Zilkha Distinguished Chair in Neurodegenerative Disease Research Pramod Dash, Ph.D. Medical School 8/04/2005
Robert A. Welch Distinguished Chair in Chemistry John Spudich, Ph.D. Medical School 6/1/1973
Roy M. and Phyllis Gough Huffington Distinguished Chair Vacant Medical School 8/10/2000
The John S. Dunn Distinguished Chair in Radiology Susan D. John, M.D., Medical School 12/3/1987
The Rockwell Distinguished Chair in Society and Health Cheryl L. Perry, Ph.D. School of Public Health 2/29/2000
The Rockwell Distinguished Chair in Society and Health (Quasi) Cheryl L. Perry, Ph.D. School of Public Health 8/11/2000
Weatherhead Distinguished Chair of Heart Disease (Formerly known as the Albert J. Weatherhead III Fund) Stefano Sdringola, M.D. Medical School 8/8/2002