Make a Gift

Jenna C. Taylor

Karen K. Kaplan,
Assistant Vice President
of Public Affairs
Director of University
Publications and Design
Chief Communications Officer


Cynthia J. Johnson, PhD
Director of Development Communications

Kevin J. Foyle, MBA, CFRE
Vice President
for Development

Ogden and Bricker Selected as 2013 President’s Leadership Award Recipients

John Bricker, son of Award Recipient J. Timothy Bricker, MD, Jodi Ogden and Giuseppe N. Colasurdo, MD.John Bricker, son of award recipient J. Timothy Bricker, MD,  Jodi Ogden and Giuseppe N. Colasurdo, MD.

Previous President’s Leadership Award Recipients

2006 – Robert J. Emery, DrPH
2007 – Paul E. Darlington, PhD
2008 – Ted D. Pate, PhD
2009 – M. Darla Brown
2010 – Carin A. Hagberg, MD
2011 – Brent R. King, MD
2012 – Charles A. Figari, Kay H. Williamson

2013 President’s Leadership Award Nominees

Administrative/Classified Nominees
Cynthia Bihm
Michael Dixon
Shari Galletti
John Greer
Lea Roberts
Kirk Roden
Subi Shakya
Lenice Socha
Eric Solberg
Brian Wilson

Faculty Nominees
Martin Citardi, MD
Thomas Mackey, PhD
James McCarthy, MD
Luis Ostrosky, MD
Eric Reichman, PhD, MD
Mary Ann Smith, PhD
Jon Tyson, MD, MPH
Robin Weltman, DDS

For the first time, the President’s Leadership Awards were given in two categories: one for faculty, and one for administrative and classified. This year’s award recipients were Jodi S. Ogden, MBA, CRA, assistant vice president, Sponsored Projects Administration, and J. Timothy Bricker, MD, director of the Division of Pediatric Cardiology at UTHealth Medical School and chief of pediatric cardiology at Children’s Memorial Hermann Hospital.

These prestigious awards honor the memory of the late Michael “Mike” Jimenez, former UTHealth vice president and chief human resources officer and reflect the characteristics of a man who made an indelible mark on the university in four short years.

“I was so surprised to be nominated for this award and am honored to be selected,” Ogden said, upon learning that she had been selected. “You hope that you are making the right decisions and are going down the right path and to be given such a prestigious award for doing so is overwhelming.”

Ogden is responsible for four operating units: Grants Administration, Contracts Administration, Post-Award Finance Administration, and Systems & Reporting. Prior to her current post, Ogden served as the Contracts Director in the Office of Sponsored Projects at UTHealth. Ogden has an MBA from the C.T. Bauer College of Business at the University of Houston and is a Certified Research Administrator. She began her career in research administration in 1992 and has worked at two other UT components. Odgen has worked in all areas of research administration including pre-award, post-award, clinical trials management, institutional review boards and institutional animal care and use committees.

One of her nominating colleagues wrote, “Jodi’s tireless efforts to improve, support, and build the research community make UTHealth and the lives of those she touches all the richer as a result. She leads through example, and that, after all, is the hallmark of an exceptional leader.”

Bricker was unable to attend the Star Awards where the awards were conferred. His son, John Bricker, accepted the award on his behalf, saying “My father lives and breathes this institution. Within one week of his coming to the university, UTHealth scrubs had arrived for his granddaughters—he was recruiting already. Thank you for honoring him with this award.”

Bricker earned his medical degree with honors from the Ohio State University in 1976 and did his pediatric residency, chief residency and a cardiology fellowship at Texas Children's Hospital in Houston. In 1983 he joined the faculty of Baylor College of Medicine and was appointed chief of pediatric cardiology in 1992 and vice chair of pediatrics in 2002. In 2004 Bricker became the chairman of pediatrics at the University of Kentucky and remained in Lexington until 2011, when he returned to Houston to join UTHealth.

President Giuseppe N. Colasurdo, MD, spoke of Bricker’s humility and the admiration that he inspired in the short time he was been at UTHealth, then quoted from his nomination documents, “‘In a department full of leaders, he is our finest. I truly believe he is our greatest physician role model.’”

The awards were presented during the April 4 Star Awards ceremony, held yearly for longevity and service.

Jenna C. Taylor