Make a Gift

Jenna C. Taylor

Karen K. Kaplan,
Assistant Vice President
of Public Affairs
Director of University
Publications and Design
Chief Communications Officer


Cynthia J. Johnson, PhD
Director of Development Communications

Kevin J. Foyle, MBA, CFRE
Vice President
for Development


Send information for consideration for Kudos to Jenna C. Taylor. Please include complete titles and doctoral degrees.


Pedro Ruiz, M.D., professor and interim chair of the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences in The University of Texas Medical School at Houston, was appointed to the Editorial Boards of The Journal of Mental Health Policy and Economics and The Asian Journal of Psychiatry.

Mauro Ferrari, Ph.D., professor and director of the Division of NanoMedicine at The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston, has been elected to the College of Fellows of the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE). Ferrari, deputy chairman of the Department of Biomedical Engineering, a joint venture between the UT Health Science Center at Houston, The University of Texas at Austin and The University of Texas M. D. Anderson Cancer Center, is the first faculty member from the UT Health Science Center to be elected to AIMBE's College of Fellows. He joins almost 1,000 other fellows who are bioengineering leaders in academia, industry and government and have distinguished themselves through their contributions to research, industrial practice and/or education.

Joanne Hickey, Ph.D., RN, FAAN, Patricia L. Starck/PARTNERS Professor in Nursing, coordinator of the Doctor of Nursing Practice Program, and chair of the Department of Acute and Continuing Care, received the 2008 Distinguished Achievement Award from the University of Rhode Island School of Nursing. This award is given to alumnae in recognition of outstanding contributions to nursing. Hickey received her master's degree in nursing from the University of Rhode Island. The award was presented on Oct. 18 during the Homecoming Weekend celebration at the Kingston, Rhode Island campus.

Cynthia Trajtenberg, D.D.S., assistant professor in the Department of Restorative Dentistry and Biomaterials, has been elected fellow of the World Congress of Minimally Invasive Dentistry (WCMID). She is the first fellow elected from Texas. Founded in 1999, the WCMID selects fellows in recognition of outstanding achievement and commitment to minimally invasive dentistry and oral health prevention. Fellows are inducted into the organization upon successful completion of written and clinical examinations.

Robin Hardwicke, Ph.D., assistant professor of Medicine at The University of Texas Medical School, was awarded the 2008 HIV Educator Distinguished Service award at the National Association of Nurses in AIDS Care (ANAC) conference in Tucson, Ariz., on Nov. 7. For the past 10 years, Hardwicke has been involved in a variety of HIV preventions and education programs as well as numerous publications, presentations, and clinical research projects. She is actively involved in the Houston ANAC chapter in addition to currently serving as the national president of the HANCB, which is the organization that certifies nurses as AIDS care specialists.


As president of the Southern Regional Education Board Council on Collegiate Education for Nursing, Patricia L. Starck, D.S.N., John P. McGovern Professor and dean of The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston School of Nursing (SON), presided over the annual meeting held in Atlanta, GA, Oct. 5 - 7. Starck also presented a paper titled, "Calculating Graduation Rates."

The Eighth Annual Hans J. Müller-Eberhard Memorial Lecture was held Sept. 25, at The Brown Foundation Institute of Molecular Medicine for the Prevention of Human Diseases.

Terri S. Armstrong, Ph.D., associate professor of Integrative Nursing Care at SON, presented two lectures at the seventh annual Internation Neuro-Oncology Updates meeting in Baltimore, Md., Sept. 18-19. She presented "Quality of Life in Brain Tumor Patients" as a plenary session, and "Secondary Endpoints in Clinical Trials."