Make a Gift

Jenna C. Taylor

Karen K. Kaplan,
Assistant Vice President
of Public Affairs
Director of University
Publications and Design
Chief Communications Officer


Cynthia J. Johnson, PhD
Director of Development Communications

Kevin J. Foyle, MBA, CFRE
Vice President
for Development


Published: November 13, 2009 by

Nancy Bergstrom, Ph.D., R.N., F.A.A.N., Theodore J. and Mary E. Trumble Professor of Aging Research, and co-director, Center on Aging at The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston School of Nursing (SON) has been named Peer Reviewer of the Year by Advances in Skin and Wound Care, a journal dedicated to interdisciplinary research.

Lorraine Frazier, Ph.D., R.N., F.A.A.N., Nancy B. Willerson Distinguished Professor in Nursing, and professor, Department of Nursing Systems, SON, has been selected for the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Executive Nurse Fellows program, an advanced leadership program for nurses in senior executive roles in health services, public health and nursing education who aspire to help lead and shape the U.S. health care system. The three-year fellowships allow participating nurses to remain in their current positions while they gain the experiences, insights, competencies and skills necessary to advance in executive leadership positions in health and health care systems that are undergoing unprecedented change.

Andrew Harper, M.D., The University of Texas Harris County Psychiatric Center (UTHCPC) medical director, received the Psychiatric Excellence Award from the Texas Society of Psychiatric Physicians (TSPP).  The TSPP unites Texas' professional psychiatric organizations, bringing together 45,000 physicians in advocacy for patients and quality psychiatric care.  TSPP's mission is dedicated to developing the highest quality of comprehensive psychiatric care for patients, families and communities.  Harper, who began his career with UT as a medical student and continued on as a resident, faculty member and staff psychiatrist, director of Child and Adolescent Services and now, as UTHCPC medical director, is receiving this award because of his commitment to quality patient care, as well as his commitment to the teaching, research and community service/outreach components during his service to UTHCPC and the community.

F. Gerard Moeller, M.D., Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Science, UT Medical School at Houston, has been elected to member status of the prestigious American College of Neuropsychopharmacology (ACNP). Founded in 1961, ACNP is the nation's premier professional society in brain, behavior and psychopharmacology research. 

Pedro Ruiz, M.D., professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences at The University of Texas Medical School at Houston, received the Irving Blumberg Award for Humanitarian Services from the American Association of Psychosocial Rehabilitation. 


Susan H. Landry, Ph.D., has been appointed to the Albert and Margaret Alkek Chair in Early Childhood Development. Landry is a professor in the UT Medical School at Houston Department of Pediatrics and director of the Children's Learning Institute.

Marcia A. Barnes, Ph.D., has been appointed chair of Childhood Reading and Learning at the Children's Learning Institute at UT Medical School at Houston.

Nancy H. Busen, Ph.D., R.N., has been appointed the first holder of the Margaret A. Barnett/PARTNERS Professorship in Nursing at SON.

C. Thomas Caskey, M.D., professor at The Brown Foundation Institute of Molecular Medicine for the Prevention of Human Diseases (IMM), University of Texas Health Sciences Center at Houston, was recently appointed chair of the Board of Directors of Genome Canada. Caskey has been a member of Genome Canada's Board of Directors for a number of years and has served in various capacities on a number of committees. Caskey currently serves as director and chief executive officer of the IMM.

Robert M. Feldman, M.D., has been appointed to the Richard S. Ruiz, M.D., Distinguished University Chair in Ophthalmology at UT Medical School at Houston.

John O'Brien, Ph.D., was recently appointed to the Frederic B. Asche Chair in Ophthalmology at UT Medical School at Houston.

Barbara C. Tilley, Ph.D., professor and director of the Division of Biostatistics, was named the Lorne D. Bain Distinguished Professor in Public Health and Medicine at The University of Texas School of Public Health at Houston (SPH).

Vicki Knutson, Ph.D., has been appointed associate dean for Academic Affairs for The University of Texas Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences at Houston. 

Jacqueline Lappin, M.D., UT Medical School at Houston, has been elected secretary- treasurer of the Texas Transplantation Society (TTS). Lappin has been a member of TTS since 2000, and has served on several committees. 

Pedro Ruiz, M.D., was appointed to the editorial boards of International Journal of Culture and Mental Health and Community Mental Health Journal.  Ruiz is professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences in UT Medical School at Houston.

John Spudich, Ph.D., Welch Chair and director of the Center for Membrane Biology and professor in the Department of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology, UT Medical School at Houston, has been elected vice-president of the International Union of Photobiology (IUPB). The IUPB, established in 1928 as the Comité Internationale de la Lumière, is now the umbrella organization for 10 societies including the American Society for Photobiology, of which Spudich previously served as president. The IUPB mission is to stimulate international research and to promote photobiology and photomedicine, especially in developing countries.


Terri S. Armstrong, Ph.D., associate professor, Department of Integrative Nursing Care, SON, co-authored, "Incidence, Risk Factors, and Impact of Severe Neutropenia After Hyperthermic Intraperitoneal Mitomycin C," in Annals of Surgical Oncology (official Journal of the Society of Surgical Oncology). Published online: May 28, 2009 (DOI: 10.1245/s10434-009-0523-4).

Amy Calvin, Ph.D., R.N., associate professor, Department of Acute and Continuing Care, SON, published "The cardiovascular intensive care unit nurse's experience with end-of-life care: A qualitative descriptive study," in Intensive and Critical Care Nursing (2009) 25, 214 - 220. The article reports that nurses in a cardiovascular intensive care unit identified exhausting patient treatments, promoting family presence, acknowledging physician authority and walking a fine line to describe their experiences with end-of-life care in the ICU.

Joan C. Engebretson, Dr.P.H., R.N., AHN-BC, professor, Department of Integrative Nursing Care, SON, co-authored "Social Capital and Complexity Theory: The Science and Language of Collaboration" in The International Journal of Interdisciplinary Social Sciences, Vol. 4, No. 1.

Pedro Ruiz, M.D., professor and vice chair in the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences of the UT Medical School at Houston, co-authored the Ninth Edition of the Kaplan & Sadock's Comprehensive Textbook of Psychiatry.  This two-volume work was published by Lippincott Williams & Wilkins. 


Arnold Schecter, M.D., Ph.D., professor of Environmental Sciences at SPH, presented two papers at Dioxin 2009, an International Symposium on Persistent Organic Pollutants, in Bejing, China, the week of Aug. 23.