Committee on the Status of Women

Distinguished Professional Woman Award

The Distinguished Professional Woman Award was established in 1984 to honor a woman who has been recognized as an outstanding achiever in the Houston community, the state of Texas or the nation; has made significant contributions to overall health, quality of life and public service; earned the respect of her peers in her professional discipline; and, supported women by being a mentor and positive role model.

The CSW recognizes this achievement award annually by seeking nominations from the UTHealth, M.D. Anderson Cancer Center and the Houston community. While the CSW encourages you to consider qualified women from UTHealth and M.D. Cancer Center, this is not a requirement. Nominations are accepted for women outside of the healthcare field in areas such as law, politics, or social/government service whose work has improved the health or quality of life for women.

Nominations are currently closed. Watch for coming announcements.

Nomination Packet Must Include:
Nomination Reply Form

1-2 page letter explaining why you are nominating woman.
Biographical Sketch/CV or Resume of Nominee
Two Recommendation Letters


1984 Sarah Weddington, JD 2004 Mary desVignes-Kendrick, MD, MPH, FAAP

1985 Carolyn Leach Huntoon, PhD

2005 Dianna Milewicz, MD, PhD
1986 Kathryn J. Whitmire 2006 Nancy Dickey, MD
1987 Wilhelmina Ruth Fitzgerald Delco 2007 Carmel Bitondo Dyer, MD, AGSF, FACP
1988 Benjy F. Brooks, MD 2008 Cheryl L. Perry, PhD
1989 Judith G. Novak, RN, MEd 2009 Ellen Gritz, PhD
1990 Lois Moore, RN, BSN, MEd 2010 Susan H. Landry, PhD
1991 Patricia Buffler, PhD 2011 award suspended this year
1992 Ruth Hartgraves 2012 award suspended this year
1993 Patricia L. Starck, DSN, RN, FAAN                        2013 Millicent Goldschmidt, PhD
1994 Mae C. Jemison, MD 2014
1995 Doris Laune Ross, PhD 2015
1996 (TIE) Margaret L. Kripke, PhD
1996 (TIE) Dianna Redburn, MD
1997 Michele G. Curtis, MD 2017
1998 Diana S. Natalicio, PhD 2018
1999 LuAnn Aday, PhD 2019
2000 Anna Steinberger, PhD 2020
2001 Juliet V. Garcia, PhD 2021
2002 Melinda Hill Perrin 2022
2003 Irma Gigli, MD 2023